#1 Song- "Baby, I love your way/ Freebird Medley" - Will to Power
Yesterday was largely forgettable and I was too lazy to write an entry. So sue me. I am a sow. Today well well. In Calculus, we watched a video. Physics was a reviewed a worksheet from last week, English was a discussion on Paradise Lost. We had a quiz and I aced it. After school Mike and I hit the weight room. We were lifting in preparation for track. A lot of guys on the track team swear by it so might as well give it a try. I want to break 2:00 in the 800m in the spring. Tomorrow will be a running day. Also (surprisingly) I got a letter from Patty. I wrote back. I napped before dinner and homework after. Finally wrapped up my English paper. Man, that is one of the best feelings- being done with a project. After 6th period today I spied KW and said "hi". Got one in return. Ha! I re-established it. Mike told me that she also said hi to me today. There is an outside chance she thought it was me. Today I was hanging out in the senior lounge. It's an area by the senior locker with some tables and a place to hang out away from the peering eyes of underclassmen. I was doing some homework and Shawn D sat down at my table and we had a chat. Always good to talk to her. I hope tomorrow is encouraging.
"The cinematography was beautiful, the acting was excellent, the sex was hot" - A Tony B. film review.
Thursday, December 15
Saturday Nov. 26th
Today got off to a slow start. I went to work per usual but only lasted 4 hours. I was really slow and we were overstaffed. Generally they give the openers the option of ducking out early and we took it. Then Mike and I went Downtown for a little and just walked the 16th street mall. Not as much fun when it is cold out. We didn't spend too much time there before coming home. After a little nap, we hit Sound Warehouse. I think we came in right after a robbery. The staff seemed all shaken up and a few second later, the Police came in. I bought 2 tapes. Tomorrow in the last day of this long weekend. Which means it is homework time. Let's have a good one!
"I served with Jack Kennedy, I knew Jack Kennedy. Jack Kennedy was a friend of mine, You, sir, are not Jack Kennedy"- Lloyd Benson during a VP presidential debate with Dan Quayle
Friday Nov. 25th
Well, it was good. Started out at 8:00 am. Had to go to work. On the way we had an accident of sorts. We were cruising down the road and a car suddenly stopped in front of use. Mike hit the brakes and we slid on some ice. Kind of amazing now that I think about it. We veered in the oncoming traffic lane, did a 180 around the idiot that stopped suddenly and wound up in a ditch on the side of the road. The dude just took off. We couldn't get out on our own so we had to call for a two. First we called Kim and told her we would be late. After 1 1/2 hours and $60 we were on our way. The car had no damage. Work went by fast because we were slammed. Everyone was out shopping and apparently hitting McD's. I also got paid today. $114.36. After work we did a little shopping of our own and he went to Southwest Plaza. Saw a lot of babes (a couple checking me out- I think, I hope) I was thinking today. Late at night before bed, my mind always starts with KW but other times, she might as well not exist. But I do like her. We saw Jeremy at the K-mart that is by the mall. Sometimes we just stop in to see if anything good is on clearance. He joined us as we cruised around, went back to Southwest Plaza, then cruised some more. Fun. I bought a tape- The Soul Sixties. Sam & Dave, Wilson Picket and the great Otis Redding,
Classics. I actually listen to 50's and 60's music more than I listen to the regular radio. I do get caught up with K.C Casem on American Top 40 at the end of the week. But the older stuff, really speaks to me. I wished for KW in a fountain. I hope it is answered. I'll do my part. I have faith, I have hope and I have courage.
"There comes a time for everybody, when true love will come your way. There comes a time for everybody, that's what they tell me that's what they say" - Buddy Holly
Classics. I actually listen to 50's and 60's music more than I listen to the regular radio. I do get caught up with K.C Casem on American Top 40 at the end of the week. But the older stuff, really speaks to me. I wished for KW in a fountain. I hope it is answered. I'll do my part. I have faith, I have hope and I have courage.
"There comes a time for everybody, when true love will come your way. There comes a time for everybody, that's what they tell me that's what they say" - Buddy Holly
Friday, November 25
Thursday Nov. 24th
Turkey Day! (not turkey bird which is Jeremy's strangely named pet bird) Went okay. It feel a lot like a weekend. After going out last night, I slept late. Woke up at 1 pm. Then I just was lazy until the official meal. We ate at home. The dinner was good as always especially the cherry pie. I loves me some cherry pie (I don't go in for that pumpkin crap). In addition to the family, we had my Grandma Eva (My grandpa died last year), my great uncle and aunt from Arkansas and my uncle Randy. My grandma had Randy when she was a bit older so he is way younger than my mom. He has kind of looked out for us after my dad split in a big brother sort of way. He took Mike and I to see Star Wars for the for the first time, so I am in his debt. He even has a boat and takes us all water skiing a few times a year. He's is kind of nerdy but a good fellow. He is also one of the few people I've known that going to the Army didn't change him. He was pretty much the same before and after. Always kind of admired him for that. If I go the ROTC scholarship route, I hope to be the same. Tomorrow is payday! Money, money, money all for me to spend.
"I have two words to say to you 'Shut the fuck up' "- Bobby Deniro in Midnight Run.
"I have two words to say to you 'Shut the fuck up' "- Bobby Deniro in Midnight Run.
Wednesday Nov. 23rd
School was mostly a blur. Felt like a Friday and with the holiday tomorrow, it kind of is. When I saw K.W. today I got that “kick in the gut” feeling followed by some heart pounding. Uh-oh. The ‘L” word. I am no longer depressed by the situation. In fact, I am strangely confident although nothing has changed. Yesterday, she caught me staring at her. She didn’t seem creeped out some maybe she is getting the message that something is up. Tonight Mike, Jeremy and I hit up the dollar movies to see Midnight Run.
Which was a lot funnier that I thought it was going to be. We go to the movies a lot. They basically have movies that have been out for a few months already for a buck. The theatre isn’t the greatest but oh well. We seem to go there with Jeremy more than our other friends. It’s right by my work and it pulls kids in from everywhere. We are always on the prowl for chicks. Sometimes we follow them around for fun- a car chase. Every once in a while they stop and we talk. Seldom do we get phone numbers, at least real ones. If we aren’t in a chasing mood and ,if my sister is working, we hit McDonald’s for a late night snack. Kim always gives us a look but still gives us stuff. What a nice sis. Jeremy was acting weird tonight and whining about not having “someone to hold”. Hey I don’t have anyone but I don’t go bitching to people- what’s that going to do? He also said he’s thought of suicide. Not sure how serious he was but it was eerie. I hope someday he finds a girl who appreciated his integrity. He is his own dude and doesn’t seem to care about what people think of him. He came to Bear Creek in our junior year from Phoenix. I dunno, maybe that is how you have to be when you move to a new school. Good guy.
“There's more to life than being cool, athletic, and popular”- The wonder years.
Which was a lot funnier that I thought it was going to be. We go to the movies a lot. They basically have movies that have been out for a few months already for a buck. The theatre isn’t the greatest but oh well. We seem to go there with Jeremy more than our other friends. It’s right by my work and it pulls kids in from everywhere. We are always on the prowl for chicks. Sometimes we follow them around for fun- a car chase. Every once in a while they stop and we talk. Seldom do we get phone numbers, at least real ones. If we aren’t in a chasing mood and ,if my sister is working, we hit McDonald’s for a late night snack. Kim always gives us a look but still gives us stuff. What a nice sis. Jeremy was acting weird tonight and whining about not having “someone to hold”. Hey I don’t have anyone but I don’t go bitching to people- what’s that going to do? He also said he’s thought of suicide. Not sure how serious he was but it was eerie. I hope someday he finds a girl who appreciated his integrity. He is his own dude and doesn’t seem to care about what people think of him. He came to Bear Creek in our junior year from Phoenix. I dunno, maybe that is how you have to be when you move to a new school. Good guy.
“There's more to life than being cool, athletic, and popular”- The wonder years.
Tuesday, November 22
Tues. Nov. 22nd
What a mediocre day at best. I’ve had a string of them lately. Maybe I’m just in a funk. School was okay as usual. I have a fleeting sense of optimism about K.W. but I see a hope rebound in the future. It’s my thing. After school Mike, Shannon and I took our older sister Kim to work. Naturally we mooched some food for a little snack. Hey, ride’s not free. I checked the schedule and found out that I have to work tomorrow night. Then I came home and watched Fun House. Later on, Mike and I went to Pete’s house and talked about a lot of things. Just shootin-the-shit. We also shot some hoop in the dark. It was fun. Pete is a good buddy. Today is the 25th anniversary of JFK’s assassination.
It makes me think of how sad America is today. The self-proclaimed rebels and hippes of the 60’s have turned all conservative chasing the dollar. The candidates for president are more pathetic than inspiring. People are too complacent and afraid of change. Which is one reason why a weenie like Bush was elected. One of the saddest examples is how Bush and Reagan recently made a list of the most admired men. Based on what I ask? Presidents no longer heroes to the young. Just kind of figureheads of ideologies. Young people only admire money. The torch that was supposed to be passed from Kennedy went out when he dide. We need youth and excitement and enthusiasm all the way from the school house to the white house. This, not a better economy, false promises, will make America better. The rest will just fall in line. Oh well, that is my philosophy.
“Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country” JFK, R.I.P.
“Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country” JFK, R.I.P.
Monday Nov. 21st
Today bordered on crappy. Calculus went okay. I’m in a groove there. Physics was just plain frustrating. English was a quiz which I failed. Econ, found out that I have a C for the semester so far but I can get that to an ‘A’ no problem. No letter from Patty. The initial enthusiasm for the whole K.W. thing has worn off but I am still hopeful. Need to re-establish some communication. We had our Cross Country team pictures. I imagine it will be pretty hard to find myself in the yearbook because of how big our team is. Probably really the only disadvantage. After the group photo, they pulled all the All-County people out separately to take our pictures. The picture winds up in the Hall of Fame.
I walked past those pictures everyday from years gone by and it’s surreal that mine will join them. While they were taking the picts some of my friends were walking by. I felt proud. I hope tomorrow is good or at least inspiring to me.
“If you can’t laugh at yourself, make fun of other people” - T-Shirt slogan.
“If you can’t laugh at yourself, make fun of other people” - T-Shirt slogan.
Sunday Nov. 20th
Another Sunday in the books. Worked in the am, came home and slept, then some TV. Mike and I did go up to Lookout Mountain where my Dad’s keeps his horses.
I think it is his father-in-law’s place or something. I guess technically my step-grandparents but I don’t even know the people. I will say, they are always really nice when we see them, offering us food and the like. The guy sometimes gives us a twenty if we do some work up there. Today we just fed the horses. Dad asked up to do is yesterday. The view of the city is sweet up there. But as we were parked on the road just taking it in, some dick stopped and wanted to know what we were up to. What a hooknose? We angrily explained that we were feeding our Dad’s horse and it really pissed us off. I’ve always seemed to get pegged for being a trouble-maker. Followed at stores, but I am a pretty good dude, I think. When I came home I did my math homework but no any Physics. I hope to see a lot of K.W. tomorrow. I wished on 2 stars for luck. Maybe they cancelled each other out but really, it can’t hurt. Only 3 days next week because of Thanksgiving. Fun, fun, yeah!
“Alright! we’re going to the Fun House!” - J.D. Roth. “ Can I go” - Tiny (from Fun House)
“Alright! we’re going to the Fun House!” - J.D. Roth. “ Can I go” - Tiny (from Fun House)
Saturday Nov. 19th
To quote my sister “what a worthless day”. Went to work until 12. It went hohkay. Wen I got home, I slept and watched some TV. Then Mike and I went over to Dad’s to pay our insurance. We somehow wound up staying and watching the Running Man on cable. For as long as I can remember my Dad’s had cable at his place. Something we’ve never had so it always seems like kind of a treat. When we got home, we did my mom a favor and returned the movies she rented to the video store. While there, we got Better Off Dead to watch.
We also stopped at Taco Bell for dinner. Watched the movie when we got back and that’s all. I saw the first star in the night sky and I wished on it. I’ve always done that even if my wishes rarely come true.
“I’ve been going to this High School for 7 years.....I’m no dummy” Charles de Mar
“I’ve been going to this High School for 7 years.....I’m no dummy” Charles de Mar
Friday, November 18
Friday Nov. 18th
What a groovy day. School went okay. I didn’t see much of K.W. I didn’t say “hi” when I did see her because I was talking to Mike. After school, I talked with an old grade school friend Shawn . We relived a lot of good memories. Went to my Dad’s after school but he wasn’t there again. When I got home, I fell asleep and missed my usual routine of watching ‘Fun House” except a bit at the end. After dinner, Mike, Jeremy and I went to see ‘Die Hard’.
We have been giving this sophomore on the team , Tony, a hard time because he was always going on about how great it was. Turns out, he was right. What a flick! It had me laughing and clapping. Then we went to McD’s and mooched off Kim. We talked a little about our current “likes” and I talked about K.W. I think it’s time I stated it- I like her. Now it is official. I have also got a plan. Continue saying “hi”, then “hi, there”, maybe conversation. Then before winter break give her a card with how I feel and my phone number. Let’s hope it works. She is hot.
“you’re up to your third knuckle and she’s moaning like a bitch in heat”- Me being classy
We have been giving this sophomore on the team , Tony, a hard time because he was always going on about how great it was. Turns out, he was right. What a flick! It had me laughing and clapping. Then we went to McD’s and mooched off Kim. We talked a little about our current “likes” and I talked about K.W. I think it’s time I stated it- I like her. Now it is official. I have also got a plan. Continue saying “hi”, then “hi, there”, maybe conversation. Then before winter break give her a card with how I feel and my phone number. Let’s hope it works. She is hot.
“you’re up to your third knuckle and she’s moaning like a bitch in heat”- Me being classy
Thurs. Nov 17th
H'okay Today school went well. Did nothing in French. We had a quiz in Calc but I aced it. In English we had an in-class essay. It went well. Discussion in econ. After 6th, I was waiting for Mike and K.W. walked by. I said “hi” and she enthusiastically said “hi” back. Made me feel good. I’ll try again tomorrow. Went to pay my insurance but Dad wasn’t home. Mike and had I to go to work. It was slow and I goofed around. Then, afterwards, we threw the football around. I could’ve done that all night. The came home and watched T.V. My guitar order form is on its way. I can hardly wait until I get it. I’m pretty happy about the K.W. situation and that Patty wrote. Let’s keep it that way to carry me through the weekend.
“I don’t need drugs or alcohol to enhance my personality, I’m screwed up as it is” - Me on me
“I don’t need drugs or alcohol to enhance my personality, I’m screwed up as it is” - Me on me
Wednesday, November 16
Wednesday Nov. 16th
What a darn good day. We got our mid-term progress reports. Not so much an actual grade just a “hey, this is how you are doing at this point”. I have 4 A’s and a B (I hope). I admit, I like getting good grades. I hang with a pretty smart crowd so I have to keep up. I’m proud because I worked hard or at least worked hard enough. I’m finally started to understand Physics (that’s how it usually goes with me. I struggle then BAM, it become all clear) Math is really easy now. After school I was waiting around for my sister. K.W. was talking to two guys. I was standing near and she said “Hi”. It put me in a good mood. She didn’t have to say anything. I’ll be the one to say “Hi” tomorrow. When I go home from school, there was a letter from Patty. It was good. I immediately wrote back. I also sent away for a guitar. I’ve always wanted to play an instrument but never could afford lesson. The guitar seems at least possible to teach myself. Went to the mall with my mom. It was kind of fun. I drove some. It’s always weird driving my mom’s car. At the mall, I got a shirt for $2. I’ll wear it tomorrow. When I look back I can’t see a single bad thing that happened today. I wish they all could be like this.
“You can do anything you put your heart and your mind into...I believe that” -Ronald Miller from Can’t Buy Me Love
“You can do anything you put your heart and your mind into...I believe that” -Ronald Miller from Can’t Buy Me Love
Tuesday Nov. 15th
Today was like hell except cold. I am sinking into a pit of my own digging. I didn't do my physics or econ but I tried. It snowed for the first time of the year. Kind of late actually but at least we got through the Cross Country season with running in the slop. Our Chevy Citation handled it well, it is a beast with a sideways radio. The rest of my classes went okay. Not much but talk. After school Mike and I went to SW Plaza to play some video games. I had fun and even saw Julie there. Right now, I am kind of indifferent about the babe situation but deep down there is still hope. We came home and watched Fun House. I still haven't written my revised letter to Lara. Gotta do it by the weekend or I never will (Editor's note: I never did) I've been thinking about calling Patty. Maybe I will. I mean, when you have no prospects it is tempting to contact that last chick that said "I love you" even it is was on tape. Maybe I will try. I watched some TV and tried my homework. But I was too frustrated. Then Mike and I went to PDQ- a nearby convenience store- for some soda. We wanted to cruise around and shoot the breeze but it is a school night. No matter what kind of day I've had, driving around at night always makes be feel somewhat better. Anyway, that is all. I have had the inspiration to draw again. I should at least try.
"I need some courage to fight my weakness" - Ramones Something to Believe in.
"I need some courage to fight my weakness" - Ramones Something to Believe in.
Monday, November 14
Monday Nov. 14th
Not that big of a day, then again they never are. School went h'okay. No major work done. After school, I was lazy and just watch the boob tube. Mike and I have gotten hooked in this ridiculous kid's TV show called Fun House. It's your basic trivia show mixed with some stunts and a giant Fun House, the kidds have to go through at the end. The Host is J.D. Roth- totally cheesy but he is all in. The announcer is a fat dude named, what else, 'Tiny'. The real draw is the twin cheerleaders who cheer for each one of the teams. Jackie and Sammy. They have to be in there mid-20s but they are hot. I likes to look but I think Mike has a thing for Jackie. They mixed up the format for today's show. Sometime, I totally indulge the little kid in me.
Work was kind of fun. Drive Thru was pretty busy but after it slowed down, we had squirt gun wars. The squirt "guns" being bottles of window cleaner. Afterwards, I went over to King Soopers to get a B-day card for my mom which is today. When I got home I did some French homework. I was thinking today about how hopeless my girl situation is. Sometimes I can handle it. Other times I feel depressed. And times like today I feel like I have to write a story about a boy like me. Saw K.W. in the library but nothing much happened. I didn't mail my letter to Lara. I have to fix it but at least I bought a stamp. It might snow tonight but I hope not. I don't like winter because it reminds me how far summer is away. Oh well, C'est tout for today.
"Either you're washing dishes or you're not" - Me on life.
Sunday Nov. 13th
#1 song- "Bad Medicine" by Bon Jovi
An average Sunday. Got up early to open McDs, came home towatch the Broncos game, sleep and homework. At least the Broncs wasted Cleveland. 2 wins in a row, there's hope. Only 8 school days until Thanksgiving. I'll be giving thanks for a few days off, It will be just in time. Let's hope we have a good one tomorrow.
"Don't worry about tomorrow, tomorrow will take care of itself" - uh, the Bible?
An average Sunday. Got up early to open McDs, came home towatch the Broncos game, sleep and homework. At least the Broncs wasted Cleveland. 2 wins in a row, there's hope. Only 8 school days until Thanksgiving. I'll be giving thanks for a few days off, It will be just in time. Let's hope we have a good one tomorrow.
"Don't worry about tomorrow, tomorrow will take care of itself" - uh, the Bible?
Saturday Nov. 12th
Today started at 8 am. I didn't have to go to work due to the a race. A bunch of us got excited after cross country for the Junior Olympics. Maybe we were still stinging for our disappointment at State. The race was held down the street from the Jeffco Stadium. I usually only go near the place for track meets. We ran to a JV meet on this same course during the season but I've never ran that course. A lot of the top guys from the county were there. The top runner from Wheat Ridge, Nick, is a pretty decent fellow (unlike that jerk from Green Mountain). Any who, I managed an 8th place finish but to be honest, it wasn’t nearly as big as districts even. Picked up a medal and qualified for the National Meet in Maryland. No chance of going but at least I can put state behind me. Melody Fairchild, a national caliber runner and state champ from Boulder was there. As my freshman friend Matt W.would say "she ain't bad". Then again, she is about as big as he is. Afterward, we went to breakfast with Tom B. and Wade at Village Inn. I rested at home when I returned then went to SW Plaza. Didn't spend too much. Mike and I didn't go out, we rented a movie instead. It wasn't too bad but I wasn't in the mood to watch it. I wrote a letter to a former camp flame..Lara Adams. I met her at Sky Ranch (same as Patty) but she was much cuter. We wrote a few time and she even sent the words to "The Rose" one time. Never figured what that meant. Hey might as well take a shot. I have to get a stamp tomorrow. I hope she still lives at the same place and writes back. I'll go to sleep tonight thinking of Shelley, Andrea, and Kristen; all currently have a place in my heart.
"Character is what you know you are. Not what others think you have"- Marva Collins
"Character is what you know you are. Not what others think you have"- Marva Collins
Friday Nov. 11th
Not too much exciting. The half day was nice but somewhat wasted. Picked up my check at when I went to work. A check is not as nice when it is already spent. Oh well, better than being in the hole I guess. I am very sleepy tonight.
"I'm washing lettuce. Soon, I'll be on fries. In a few years, I'll make assistant manager, and that's when the big bucks start rolling in." - Louie Anderson from Coming to America
Saturday, November 12
Thursday Nov. 10th
I didn't see KW enough to really make contact again. Tomorrow I'll try if I see her. Today was just a coasting day. Nothing really important except a math test. I think I did really well. This quarter I am doing much better. Even getting my head around English. After school I napped until work. It went by so slowly. I have to work again tomorrow night. Another exciting friday in the life of Matt T. After work, Mike and I finished writing up our Physics Lab results. Today I realized what luck I have sometimes. Tomorrow I get paid but almost all of my check save for 10 bucks- for the next two weeks. In the mail, I got a check from Kodak for 19.50. A few years ago, my pop (God knows why) got Mike and I a Kodak instant camera. Later we found out Polariod sued them. We followed along enough to know a "settlement" was coming. The check today was that. It was sweet! Oh well, that's all. Hope we have a good one tomorrow for once. It's only a half-day.
"It's a dog-eat-dog world and I'm wearing milkbone underwear" - Norm on Cheers
p.s. I haven't seen K.W. with her boyfriend in a while. It's a good sign.
"It's a dog-eat-dog world and I'm wearing milkbone underwear" - Norm on Cheers
p.s. I haven't seen K.W. with her boyfriend in a while. It's a good sign.
Wednesday Nov. 9th
Strange. Today during 6th hour I was working on my physics in the library. I looked up to see KW staring at me kind of throwing out a vibe. She gave me a big smile and said 'Hi'. Maybe it is not that big a deal but at least it is contact. Otherwise a largely forgettable day. I just watched the boob tube tonight.
"One more thing, My name is Ronald, not Donald" -Ronnie Miller
"One more thing, My name is Ronald, not Donald" -Ronnie Miller
Tuesday Nov. 8th
A sad day for America. George Bush won the presidency. I voted for Michael Dukakis. Oh well.
School went well. I did pretty good on my english quiz. Also I finished my paper. It had a kick-butt conclusion. I was feeling a little goofy because it was done so I titled it 'Lear, Dude!'. I hope Mr. Wilson gets a chuckle out of it. After school I got my new Driver's License. I must say it is a pretty good picture.
School went well. I did pretty good on my english quiz. Also I finished my paper. It had a kick-butt conclusion. I was feeling a little goofy because it was done so I titled it 'Lear, Dude!'. I hope Mr. Wilson gets a chuckle out of it. After school I got my new Driver's License. I must say it is a pretty good picture.
We had the end of season Cross Country Banquet tonight. It was at the Holiday Inn. There were some pretty funny moments. First of all we were late. So Mike, my mom and my Grandma Eva all had to sit at the head table. After everyone ate they introduced the head table (coaches, assistants and the like) including all of us. My grandma even stood up a waved. It was classic. Later on the fun and crazy awards were given out by asst. Coach B. For some reason Mike and I got the "lucky socks" award. First of all, I didn't have a pair of lucky socks. At most, I may have mentioned something as a joke one time. Second of all, I sure Coach B. could have found some other thing to mention. It was like he just wanted something to say. Third, we had to share the damn award. It hit me tonight that the season was really over. I collected my letter bar. The first letter you get, you receive the actual letter with a pin of your sport. Cross country has a CC with an arrow through it and track has a winged foot. The second year you get a bar to go along with the first pin. I got the letter last CC season and another in track. I also received my All-County plaque and a State meet participation certificate. I was proud of the way I finished the season. Districts/ Leagues was unreal and I ran a PR at state.
Today I talked to Julie a lot. Also talked to Belinda again at the library. K.W. was there. I got the impression that KW didn't like me talking to her. Could she like me or just maybe she wants all my attention to herself. I could be dreaming too. Saw Andrea said 'hi' but no Shelley. I 've got to establish contact again. Gotta get my scholarship stuff in and apply to the U. of Miami tomorrow. Here's to a good day of life and love.
"I know I live with one of you"- Mother C.
Monday Nov. 7th
Usual Monday type of day. School went by normally. No French class this morning, just a lecture in Calculus so I was just taking notes all period. We had a lab in Physics. Nothing memorable in English and a computer game type thing in econ. I worked on my english paper after school in the library. No K.W. today. When we got home Mike and I ran 5 miles. Then I feel asleep unit 5. Then Mike and I went to Sound Warehouse and rented E.T. It was really good to see that movie again. I still remember the first time I saw it. Loved it immediately and even shed a tear when E.T. almost died. It was moving to that 12 year old dude. So what if I put some homework off? I did manage to do some math problems.
No babe news today. I didn't see Andrea or Shelley at all. Julie, well we didn't have a chance to talk too much because of the in-class assignment. Tomorrow is voting day. My first election. That will take up some of the morning. I guess that's it for today.
"Don't you think I have better things to do then sit here with you Shhiittt Brain!!" - John Cusack -The Sure Thing.
Thursday, November 10
Sunday Nov. 6h
#1 song- 'Wild, Wild West' - Escape Club
A bit more exciting Sunday than usual. Work went by fast and I had fun with it. I know I was complaining about the job yesterday but sometimes it is okay. Mainly, the other people that work there. Really a lot of cool people. The vast majority of them go to Kennedy High School which isn't even in our school district. It's kind of nice being a little anonymous to them. I have some good friends there. After work Mike and I went to Southwest Plaza mall to buy the Cliffs Notes to King Lear. While we were there we hit the arcade for some video games. Seems like I always spend a portion of my check there. I love the Track and Field game. On the way home we rented a movie from Sound Warehouse. I have to say that I felt really good they day I got my own account to the place. No more asking Mom to rent movies for us. But I can't get too excited, it's not like they have porn or anything. We got home played some football and watched TV. I started my Calc. homework. I only did 2 problems before we started the movie. The movie we got was 'The Sure Thing' with John Cusack. It is an excellent and funny movie. I've seen it before but I am always down for another watch. I finished my math afterwards. Didn't do my paper so I will have to take a late on it. We got two lates a year which is basically a couple of extra days with a one grade penalty. It means I'll have to write an A paper just to get a B. After my homework I made a tape of love songs. I've been thinking a lot about Shelley lately but I never see her. I'll try real hard to make contact tomorrow. I hope it is a good day. Broncos beat the KC Chiefs today. I hope they are back.
"Well Mr. Catt, when Steve here tells me that you are prone to biting the head off a live roadie, I say to myself 'Clive, this is damned exciting" - Bloom County
Saturday Nov. 5th
Not much action today but work and sleep. Work went okay but that 5a to 1p opening shift can be a killer. On one hand I like having my day done at one but getting up at four thirty is a bitch. After work I can home and fell asleep while watching T.V. So I wonder, even if I get off early in the day, I usually wind up sleeping. So I'm not saving much that way. Still, it is one hour less of customers. McDonalds already ranks low on the job totem pole. Tomorrow I'll spend the day working on my paper. Today is the type of day that you just float through and you don't realize its over til you go to sleep.
"Those were the best days of my life" -Bryan Adams 'Summer of '69'
"Those were the best days of my life" -Bryan Adams 'Summer of '69'
Friday Nov. 4th
Just an average day. The highlights of the school day included a 75/75 on my Physics test and watching a video in econ. Julie wasn't there. Also I had a nice chat with an exchange student from Australia, Belinda. She was on the cross country team this past season. She is nice and kind of pretty although a really slow runner. I wonder what she thinks of me. Anywho, today a lot of girls complimented my on my hair so I am doing it right. After school I slept and watched Can't Buy Me Love. A great film. Then Mike and my friend Jeremy went bowling. Of course he drove in his Bitchin' pontiac of pleasure. Jeremy has had the car for a while and while it's not stellar, it's still better than our p.o.s. It has these great cup holders that hang from the dashboard. They are called 'Mug Bouys'. Mike and I must comment on them every time we get in the car. There were a lot of ugly and young girls at the bowling alley. No prospects. This fat chick was giving me the eye but I ignored her. We hung around after our games for about a half hour hoping some chicks would magically appear but no, so we just left . What a lame evening but oh well. It seems with each day the babe situation get more and more hopeless but I guess if it's to be it's up to me. I would like a girlfriend very much but I don't want to say that I need one. Then again maybe I do. Maybe I deserve one. Something to think about.
"cools, nerds, your side, my side. Man its all bullshit. It's just tough enough to be yourself." Ronny Miller from My Life on a Mower (Can't Buy Me Love)
"cools, nerds, your side, my side. Man its all bullshit. It's just tough enough to be yourself." Ronny Miller from My Life on a Mower (Can't Buy Me Love)
Sorry
Got caught up with a few things this week of 2011. I will try to dole a few "days" per day until I catch up.
Thursday, November 3
Thursday Nov. 3rd
Felt pretty good about things today. Not much happened in school. Same old Math and French. Luckily, having Sean and Andy in French is pretty entertaining. Originally the class started out as AP French but when no one raised their hand when the teacher asked who would be taking the AP test, she said that it was just ‘French 5’. We also had a lab in Physics, a discussion in English and a lecture in econ. During 6th K.W. was looking at me a lot. She had been lately. She also looked like she was on the verge of saying something to me. I spent the free hour working on my ROTC scholarship. Getting a copy of my transcript and filling out the application. I am almost done with it. After school I just lazed around and watched T.V. I didn't get any homework done. But I only had French anyway. It seems I have homework in that class way more than any other.
Today I was thinking about this girl I used to be madly in love with; Shelley. A freshman in my Earth Science class when I was a sophomore. I used to talke to her every chance I got or just pass her in the hall. We were actually kind of friends. Then on Valentine's Day that year, I gave her a card with a rose. In the card was little poem I wrote. Later that day, she saw me walking through the mall, while she was in Hallmark's card store. She ran out of the store with a card that she didn't pay for just to say 'hi' to me. I always wondered if she was looking for a card for me but I never got one. Later on I found out that the poem made her cry. Of course nothing ever happened. Now I never see her or say anything. I wonder if she ever re-reads the card and thinks if things could have been different. Tomorrow I'll try to talk to her because she still has a place in my heart.
I got a good start on my Buddy Holly story. I have a lot of ideas to make it really good. C'est tout (that's all) for today. Nighty-night.
"Love is a perky elf dancing a merry jig and then suddenly he turns on you with a miniature machine gun" - from Love is Hell.
Today I was thinking about this girl I used to be madly in love with; Shelley. A freshman in my Earth Science class when I was a sophomore. I used to talke to her every chance I got or just pass her in the hall. We were actually kind of friends. Then on Valentine's Day that year, I gave her a card with a rose. In the card was little poem I wrote. Later that day, she saw me walking through the mall, while she was in Hallmark's card store. She ran out of the store with a card that she didn't pay for just to say 'hi' to me. I always wondered if she was looking for a card for me but I never got one. Later on I found out that the poem made her cry. Of course nothing ever happened. Now I never see her or say anything. I wonder if she ever re-reads the card and thinks if things could have been different. Tomorrow I'll try to talk to her because she still has a place in my heart.
I got a good start on my Buddy Holly story. I have a lot of ideas to make it really good. C'est tout (that's all) for today. Nighty-night.
"Love is a perky elf dancing a merry jig and then suddenly he turns on you with a miniature machine gun" - from Love is Hell.
Wednesday Nov. 2nd
Today was simply ordinary. In French, we didn't do much but I did answer three question for three points. Every day we get a chance to another some social type question. If we answer we get a point, these points count a percentage toward our final grade. In calculus, not much; it was kind of confusing. In Physics we had a retest. I hope I did well. In english we just read in class. Once I sit down and read the poems I really understand and appreciate them. In econ, we finished the video. Today, Julie fell asleep during it and I had to wake her. After school, Mike, Shannon and I, ran 2 mi in the neighborhood around the school. This is technically my "old" neighborhood so I know my way around. We also did an all out 400m on the dirt track at our school. I managed 61 seconds which isn't bad considering the surface. Not bad on a dirt track. When I got home I slept. I also played football with Mike.
In the library during 6th , K.W. looked my way a lot more than usual. I don't understand. My heart is just floating around the school occasionally bushing up against some chick. I read some of my many stories I have written today. I will try to keep working on my new Buddy Holly story. It's such a good idea that I can't let it go by. Gotta get things going for college. That's all.
"Imagination is more important than Knowledge" Einstien not ein some
In the library during 6th , K.W. looked my way a lot more than usual. I don't understand. My heart is just floating around the school occasionally bushing up against some chick. I read some of my many stories I have written today. I will try to keep working on my new Buddy Holly story. It's such a good idea that I can't let it go by. Gotta get things going for college. That's all.
"Imagination is more important than Knowledge" Einstien not ein some
Tuesday, November 1
Tuesday Nov. 1st
Wow! November already. Today a lot happend. In French all my homework went unchecked so It was all for naught. In Math we just took notes as Jobs lectured. In physics we went over the worksheet and prepped for a lab on Thursday. Tomorrow is the retest. In english we had a quiz which I failed. Econ- nothing of any relevance.
Today I realized how hopeless my love life is. All the girls that I sort of like are way out of reach and if I could catch one, it would be hard to date with my car the way it is...a piece of shit. The only girl who did like me hasn't written in months. I must write her one last time- a guilt letter or maybe a poem. I am toying with the ideas some sending anonymous notes but I don't know it is kind of wimpy.
After school we (Mike, Shannon (my little sis) and I went to McDonald's. Then Mike and I applied at Mervyen's Department store. Sales floor, stock boy whatever. I hope we will get a job there. I am tired of being a peon for losers like my McD manager's Danny and Diana. We also went to the mall. I got an application for Kay-Bee Toys. That is my kind of job. Also we went out to dinner. It was good. Today I ate so much candy that it is a wonder that I am still alive. Tomorrow I must cut back because I am working on track with Mike and Shannon.
Today I realized what a good friend Jeremy is. He never makes fun of the things I do or say (like Joe). He always seems to have a good attitude about things. He is nice and most importantly, I respect him for just being himself and not getting caught up in the trendiness of high school. The Jeremy you see is the real Jeremy, not that stuff we read in books. That's all my thoughts for tonight. Hoh Well.
Today I realized how hopeless my love life is. All the girls that I sort of like are way out of reach and if I could catch one, it would be hard to date with my car the way it is...a piece of shit. The only girl who did like me hasn't written in months. I must write her one last time- a guilt letter or maybe a poem. I am toying with the ideas some sending anonymous notes but I don't know it is kind of wimpy.
After school we (Mike, Shannon (my little sis) and I went to McDonald's. Then Mike and I applied at Mervyen's Department store. Sales floor, stock boy whatever. I hope we will get a job there. I am tired of being a peon for losers like my McD manager's Danny and Diana. We also went to the mall. I got an application for Kay-Bee Toys. That is my kind of job. Also we went out to dinner. It was good. Today I ate so much candy that it is a wonder that I am still alive. Tomorrow I must cut back because I am working on track with Mike and Shannon.
Today I realized what a good friend Jeremy is. He never makes fun of the things I do or say (like Joe). He always seems to have a good attitude about things. He is nice and most importantly, I respect him for just being himself and not getting caught up in the trendiness of high school. The Jeremy you see is the real Jeremy, not that stuff we read in books. That's all my thoughts for tonight. Hoh Well.
"Men do not quit playing because they grow old, they grow old because they quit playing" - something Jeremy is always saying.
Monday, October 31
Monday Oct. 31st
Today I was still feeling crappy. We had an in class essay in English. It went ok. I still feel sick but better. After school I went home and took a nap. I almost missed the last cross country practice. After practice, I went home and watched some TV. Also I did my French which I had a lot of. It is mostly done. No new babe news but often I get stares from girls and I wonder what It means. Listened to more of the Ramones tape I bought- There are 5 right off the bat good songs. I'll have to give the others a few more listens. I didn't do anything major for halloween. Monday is just a weird day to have it. Plus, I guess I was so pre-occupied with state I didn't really pay that much attention. Kind of snuck up on me. It is hard to believe that my first month of doing this is is over with but it is here. Much has happened and most of it good.
"A fishstick is not a fish or a stick it is a fungus." Matt Groening
Sunday, October 30
Sunday Oct 30th
#1 Song - "Kokomo" The Beach Boys
Well the full force of the sickness really hit me today. I did manage to go to work this morning. I was a little sore from the race. I also did all my homework. At least when you are sick you don’t feel the urge to go and have fun, so you might as well do homework. There wasn’t even a Broncos game today-they play tomorrow night on Monday Night Football. I was getting a little tired of just sitting around the house by this afternoon, so Mike and I made a run to Sound Warehouse. I picked up a new Ramones tape- “The End of the Century”. Well, it’s not new but I don’t have it. Came home after and finished up the day.
"Do your parents know that you're Ramones?"- Miss Togar from 'Rock N Roll High School'
Saturday, October 29
Saturday Oct. 29th
Today started off bad. Mike and I missed breakfast. I swear, I called for a wake-up but it never came. Worst of all, nobody even tired to wake us. You would think someone might look around and wonder where the 2nd and 3rd runners are. This kind of pissed us off. It was like the banner shit all over again. Thanks for running well but you aren’t quite part of the team. Tried to get over it, even use it for the race. Luckily I still had a banana that I bought at the store the night before. I had to eat it on the drive down to Pueblo. It was a little chilly out this morning but I am used to running in the 30s this time of year. The meet is held at Pueblo City Park and has been for the last few years. Got to the course and checked it out. It was pretty thrilling to just be there with all the schools from the different divisions. Bear Creek is in 3A (the big schools) with 25 other teams. The smaller schools are in A-2A. Mike actually came down last year as an alternate. The team finished 16th then, but he didn’t run. Now it was our turn. I was surprised at how many of my classmate drove down for the meet. So did my mom and my sister. That was nice of them. We went over the map again even though we probably all knew it by heart. I did about a 10 minute warm up with my bro and some strides. I was nervous. Considering everything, I ran pretty well. I got a personal best time of 17:00. I finished 55th overall out of around 200 guys. Our team result was a little disappointing. We got 10th out of 25 teams. All the teams we had hoped to have an off day didn’t. In fact our league rivals, Wheat Ridge got second. Their lead runner was 5th which is pretty helpful at state. The girl’s team, however, kicked butt. They got 3rd!! So they were on the podium. More amazing, they placed without a single runner in the top 10. They just stuck together. On the ride back home, the guys all talked and we started to feel better about our finish. I mean, only 4 teams out of our conference even made it. A lot people would’ve loved just to be there. We were passing around tapes and I can across this great song “Girls with Guns” by Tommy Shaw. Put me in a good mood just to hear it. We made a surprise stop at a rest area. Some parents were waiting for us with pizza. As I was eating, I felt a slight tickle in the back of my throat which means I’m getting sick. Felt worse as when I got home at about 1:30 so I just lazied around.
“Stand tall, don’t think small, don’t turn your back against the wall”- Tommy Show, Girls with Guns
Friday, October 28
Friday Oct. 28th
Okay, I'm not as mad about the banner thing; not because I was wrong but because it wasn't that big a deal at school. School was okay today thankfully it was shortened. I went to French -nothing much, Math - had a test I think I got 100%, and Physics- did a worksheet. Then we had the assembly to celebrate the win and give us a good send off. It wasn’t just cross country. A few of the teams were headed to state. It works out well because ours is tomorrow. First the team congregated in the ping pong room and waited. Coach was on the gym floor calling out the team. He announced the all-conference team members last. Everyone cheered loud. I felt happy about being down on the floor knowing Sean, Pete, Andy and possibly Gieger were clapping for me. That part was awesome but I felt kind of stupid standing there holding the ladder. After the assembly we had some Jeffco Suburbans waiting for us. It took us 1 and half hours to get to Colorado Springs, where we would be staying. I spent a good chunk of the way down listening to a mix tape I made on my cheapie walkman; songs to pump me up. The state meet in is Pueblo another 45 minutes away. Not sure if Coach just didn’t book rooms in time but it means we will be getting up extra early tomorrow. We stayed at the Palmer House just off the highway. Mike and I were roomies. We drove around aimlessly looking for a place to eat lunch. We settled on Wendy's because a lot them have this great “Superbar”. You can eat as much as you want and they have pasta/ pizza section along with Salad bar and Taco bar. Unfortunately, this Wendy’s didn’t have one. We were too hungry to look elsewhere so I settled for a chicken Sandwich. Then we visited the Olympic Training Center. It was cool but not as exciting as I had hoped. While we were there, a Judo competition was in progress. We watched that for a bit. We came back at around 4. I slept until 5. Dinner was at 5:30 in the hotel’s meeting room. We had spaghetti, second night in a row. Then a couple of us went to the store to get snacks for the movies we were watching. We rented Lethal Weapon and a Jay Leno comedy thing. Both were good with Jay Leno being especially funny. Now it is time for bed. I haven't really thought about the race much. I just hope that I do well. I have confidence for myself and my team. I want to pull a major upset and I can visualize it. Let's just see what happens.
"Oh man there ain't nothing like twisting the night away" Sam Cooke
"Oh man there ain't nothing like twisting the night away" Sam Cooke
Thursday, October 27
Thursday Oct. 27th
This day will live in infamy. Mike and I were not, repeat not, chosen to put up the banner. The first Bear Creek District Championship banner will be hung by Wade V. and Tom P. because they are captains. I was so pissed off. We found out in a team meeting in the weight room. Mike and I just sat there stunned. Coach asked us what the problem was. He had no clue. Then he had the nerve to accuse us of being selfish. Yeah so selfish we ran our asses off at district instead of dogging it and expecting others to pick up the slack. I was really mad about Wade because he totally biffed it a districts. We won in spite of him. Tom P. is okay but he is a wrestler and let’s face it, the only reason he is captain is because the assistant coach is the wrestling coach. The captains already get so much recognition and we get shit. Nothing. At every rah-rah assembly, the captains go up and try to drum up interest for the team. I had hoped Coach would try to balance it out but we get snubbed and they get the glory. I'm not as excited for the assembly or state for that matter. I don't want my feelings to hurt the team but at the same time I don't just want to let it go. The feeling I got when Coach said that Wade and Tom would hang the banner almost cancelled out my high from districts. Coach tired to pacify us by letting us "hold" the ladders. Big Deal, could we tie their shoes too? Then I realized that in ten years no one will know who hung the banner but they will know Mike and I went all-county. (Editor’s note: Here it is ten + years later and Mike and I still know who hung the banner). I really wanted it for Mike because he overcame a stress fracture and came through for the team when others gave up. He spent most of the weeks leading up to districts biking and wondering if he would even run. He has been a consistent #2 runner all year long. The glaring disappointment was the only major thing of the day. School went okay but it is a blur now. I'll have to find a way to get excited for state. No new babe news but at dinner I defeated Emily C in a staring contest. Life looks pretty bleak out now. I'll just have to fight through then again I always do.
"Nice guys who finish first always wind up being last....but someday they are first again" Me on Banner Juke '88
"Nice guys who finish first always wind up being last....but someday they are first again" Me on Banner Juke '88
Wednesday, October 26
Wednesday Oct. 26th
Normalcy was the key today. Not much excitement or agony. In French we didn't do too much just talking. Calculus, we went over some homework. In Physics we went over our tests. I got an 80%. Mr. Jones lets us take a retest if we think we can improve so I will probably take the retest. In econ, we had another lecture and a quiz. I got a 23/25. I didn't study too much and I still did well. It is probably my easiest class. My teacher for it is the assistant track coach. He usually works with sprinters but I know him fairly well. In track, he always yells “SPRINT!” no matter the event. Good dude. At practice we did relays. It was fun. After practice we went home and rested for a bit until 6:00. Then we went to the district gymnastics meet. With some sports like cross country, the district and league meet are the same thing. Others are not. League championships are simply bragging rights because it is the district event where you qualify for state. The rest of the guys from the team were there. We decided to show support for some of the other teams since we had a lot at districts. We had fun talking and goofing around. I really felt like I was a part of the group. I can hardly wait for the assembly on Friday. They are going to play Queen's rock anthem "We are the champions" while we hang the banner. It will be a glorious affair. At the meet I talked to Andrea and Julie. Julie was being nice. Yesterday she seemed kind of bitchy or maybe she was just being cold to me. Anywho she was friendly to me tonight. During my free period I read some more of Premonitions. Mike said something today that really struck me. He said "People go out with people for what their friend think" or something to that effect. Along those lines I found out that Kristen has a boyfriend, a real asshole (and not just a she’s not going out with me asshole). I guess I knew it all along but I didn't want to believe that she is a sellout. It seems that more and more people are selling out what they really are for what they want others to see them as. They are getting futher and further away from the "me inside of me". Is it a conscious decision or does it just happen? I hope it doesn't happen to me because I like myself. I am secure with who I am and I guess with that attitude I will never have to worry about changing.
"Cindy, just hear me out and I will leave you alone... kay? Oh you demolished me on New Year's Eve. But see, I realize you did me a favor. You brought me back to REALITY! All I ever wanted to do was to get close to you and when I finally got there, it wasn't me anymore. Cindy..oh Cindy. I was just hoping we could sort this out. You know; the real me and the real you. That's all.
-Ronald Miller (Patrick Dempsey) from Can't Buy Me Love.
"Cindy, just hear me out and I will leave you alone... kay? Oh you demolished me on New Year's Eve. But see, I realize you did me a favor. You brought me back to REALITY! All I ever wanted to do was to get close to you and when I finally got there, it wasn't me anymore. Cindy..oh Cindy. I was just hoping we could sort this out. You know; the real me and the real you. That's all.
-Ronald Miller (Patrick Dempsey) from Can't Buy Me Love.
Tuesday, October 25
Tuesday Oct. 25th
Another boring day in my life. In French, we just talked about the weekend. I had to describe the excitement in halting French. Calculus we went over some of the homework. Ms. Job is very slow and steady but I really have a good understand of what is going on. Who says you can't learn anything from nice teachers. Physics took a test- I think I did okay. In English we discussed Edmund Spencer's "Faerie Queene ". At the beginning of the year, we had to recite that poem in ye olde English. It was almost like learning another language. I also got my paper back. B+ on content and a C on grammar. This is about par for me. I write the meat of the paper well but the grammar kills me. Economics we didn't do much. Practice was okay. We played kick ball. It was the seniors vs. the underclassmen. After we lost I lying on the ground semi pouting and this junior was lightly kicking me. It kind of pissed me off, so I yelled "Don't fuckin’ touch me!" right in front of the rest of the team and Orcutt. I had to do 100 push-ups. I felt stupid for saying it but c’mon. Isn’t there a saying about kicking a man when he is down?
After practice I drove down to the Air Force Recruiting office to get an application for an ROTC scholarship. My pop was in the Air Force during ‘Nam. He always talked about how the Air Force was better than the rest. But he also told me that, if I go in. I should only do it as an officer. I’m not really high on the military in general but I would be a good way to pay for college. I can’t say that I would even sign up if I were even given the scholarship. Maybe I just want to cover my bases in case I got to some expensive school.
After practice I drove down to the Air Force Recruiting office to get an application for an ROTC scholarship. My pop was in the Air Force during ‘Nam. He always talked about how the Air Force was better than the rest. But he also told me that, if I go in. I should only do it as an officer. I’m not really high on the military in general but I would be a good way to pay for college. I can’t say that I would even sign up if I were even given the scholarship. Maybe I just want to cover my bases in case I got to some expensive school.
In the library during my free period, I thought Kristen was staring at me out of the corner of her eye. What does it mean? I wish I knew. Also I caught Julie staring at me. I can't figure chicks out. I wish I knew what these girls think of me, if at all. I have to take more chances but for now I am wimpy but happy. Mike and I reminisced tonight about many good times of elementary school and Sky Ranch. It was fun. Oh well, Say la Vee. I wish Patty would write.
"Beauty is only skin deep but ugly goes all the way to the bone" -anonymous but on 1/3 of the merchandise at Spencer gifts
Monday, October 24
Monday Oct. 24th
Pretty busy day. A lot happened most bad. First on the way to school we got a flat tire. Mike and I changed it quickly and we weren't even late for Calculus. I got my test back...50/50. In physics I am kind of lost and we have a test tomorrow. In English we had a little quiz which I failed. I suppose I should read the assignment more carefully. I didn't talk to Julia in econ. I started reading a new book in 7th period. It is called Premonitions. It is really funny but kind of wired. Practice was hard. I did feel better and better as it went on. I found out that there is a pep assembly on Friday. At Bear Creek, we have a tradition of hanging the county championship banners at pep assemblies. It is always kind of a big deal to hang the banner in front of over 1000 screaming classmates. Honestly, I think Mike and I (or Tom B) should be considered and I have a good feeling we just might. Oh we'll see. After practice we got a new tire and a battery for our piece. Tomorrow I'll make an appointment to check out the other things wrong on our car. Even though a lot of things went wrong none of it really phased me. In school many people congratulated me and the team. Also some guys on the team are thinking about doing some Junior Olympics when CC is over. It would be fun if we do well. That's all.
"All the cool guys get the neat girls and all the wimps get the rest" - paraphrase from Premonitions
"All the cool guys get the neat girls and all the wimps get the rest" - paraphrase from Premonitions
Sunday, October 23
Sunday Oct. 23rd
Another day comes and goes. Didn't really do much of anything. Went to work from 6a to 2p. Even though it means I have to get up butt-early, I like opening the store. #1) it means one less hour having to deal with customers and #2) I have a good chunk of the day left when I get off. Although some days I am so wiped that I just come home and sleep, like I did today. I have a little ritual when I get to work. The first thing I set up is the coffee machine and get a cup. I love a nice cup of joe with cream and sugar to get me going. Even if my friend Sean says coffee with cream and sugar isn't coffe- it's candy. I only drink it at work when I open. There are 4 jobs that openers do. Make biscuits and salads for the day, set up the ice cream machines, set up the front end for the day or get things on the grill for cooking. My favorite is biscuits. I just set up my little station and take a few hours to make everything. Grill is the worst. Not only do you have to haul everything up from the freezers in the basement, you have to be ready to go the minute the doors open, right away. And yes, most days we have people waiting for us to open. Especially on Sunday when we open an hour later than normal. Fortunately the day went by pretty fast. When I came home I napped until 7p. I missed the Broncos losing to the Steelers. I watched some TV and did my math homework. Then I watched Cheers. That's all. I wonder what tomorrow will be like at school due to the race. I know that cross country doesn't rank very high but this is our school first conference championship. I'll be sure to listen to the announcements. Still feeling good but state here we come.
"I'm a teenage lobotomy" - Joey Ramone from the song of the same name.
Saturday, October 22
Saturday Oct. 22nd
Doesn't really feel like a Saturday. Started early with a 6am practice. We were late and we caught some flack from Coach but hoh well. When I got home I slept until 10:30 when we had to go to work. It went by okay. I got off at 3- 5hours is better than my usual 8. When I got home my friend Pete had called so I called him back. We decided to hit the softball around at the elementary school that is about halfway between both of our house. Pete is the friend who lives closest to me, about .5 mile. I’ve known Pete since junior high but only moved into his neighborhood in the last few years. We used to live in a crappy townhouse that was pretty close to school (and my amigo Jeremy). It was small and kind of cramped. I was really glad when we moved into our current house after my freshman year. Pete called some other guys from BC that he knows and live close to meet us there. We wound up playing a game until about 5:30. Returned home, rested and ate dinner, Tacos. We had to be at Tom B's house at 6:30 for a varsity night 'o fun. He has a pretty nice spread. We played pool, pong, and poker. We also watched the CU football game. Tom and Wade V also got involved in a chess match that provided some entertainment. The rest of the night was spent talking. That was fun and a good time. Tom believes that we can go top three teams in state. If we all run strong, no slacking like some did at leagues, and some other teams have an off day, we can. Not much else to say except I bess be getting to sleep soon. All in all it has been a pretty fun weekend and it is only Saturday. It still hasn't hit me and maybe it never will that I am all conference. Now I have gotten over the excitement about our team win and I am getting hyped for State. Nighty-night.
"We got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark and we're wearing sunglasses......Hit it" - Jake and Elwood blues.
"We got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark and we're wearing sunglasses......Hit it" - Jake and Elwood blues.
Friday, October 21
Friday Oct. 21st
Still ridin’ high. It all seems like a dream. It’s hard to believe that I am All-County. Today it was in the both newspaper. The Rocky Mountain News had the results and even a full page story. I was mentioned in both. I kept a copy. The Denver Post only had results and they spelled my name wrong but I don’t care. I got up at 8:20 due to a day off from school but we still had practice. It was okay. I felt tired and sore. After practice we went to Winchell’s donut hut. Good eatin’. Then home. I watched Rock and Roll High School starring the Ramones. I remember seeing this movie before I was a Ramones fan. I thought it was so bizarre. I still think it is but now I can appreciate the music more. Watched it until it was time to hoist my butt up and go get license plates. They were $57.99 but my mom paid. She is really nice and not just because she paid for the plates. Our car wouldn’t start at the county clerks so we hiked to Paul’s Place, a burger joint, and split a jumbo basket of fries and some pop. After 1/2 hour it started so we made out way home and rested until work. It went just fine and with no major problems. A lot of junior high girls with experimenting with make-up came in. Tomorrow I have to get up early then go to work. Fun, fun but I need the money. At work and in general I have adopted an attitude that I don’t care what others think of me because I proved myself what I knew I could be....a champion. Kind of corny but I am so proud. Didn’t mention it yesterday but we made history yesterday. We are the first Bear Creek team to win the league CC championships for boys. (The ladies won last year)
“I think about the events of that afternoon over and over again and I can’t help but smile” - Me on going all conference and our team’s success.
Thursday, October 20
Thursday Oct 20th.
In French nothing exciting but no homework for the weekend. In calc we had a test based on all the other tests that we have had so far. The same exact questions! I know that I got a perfect score. Physics- since I already did well on the most recent test, I didn’t have to take the retest and got the period off. Econ and English were just lecture days. For lunch, Mike and I went to Pizza Hut. We dined on a sensible meal of salad bar and bread sticks. We’ve done this a few times and it’s worked really well. At 2:00 we had a varsity meeting to prepare for the race. I still get a kick out of just being on varsity and going to varsity only meetings. Before Coach came when we were trying to figure out what our score might be. In cross country each runners place counts toward the score-add up the places of the top 5 and lowest score wins. Tom B. asked each of us where we might place and I reluctantly said 17th place. I'll be honest, I thought that I was being extremely optimistic because that would place me in award territory. First 7 get All Conference designation, the next 7 get 2nd team All Conference and the next 7 get All Conference Honorable Mention. After adding it all up we knew it would be close with our chief rivals Wheat Ridge High School and Green Mountain. Early in the week, our Coach actually said in a newspaper article- “I’d have to give the edge to Wheat Ridge (in the conference meet)”. Man, that pissed us off. We talked a little about it before the coaches came in the room.
The assistant coach took us on a mind journey through the course. By now, we all knew the map by heart. He went over every detail of the race in our minds, what we were seeing/ feeling/ thinking. I was into it! I think that we were slightly hypnotized. Anyway it was really cool and sort of weird. Finally around 3pm we loaded up the buses and headed to Clement Park. I was somewhat nervous. It had to be the best race of my life. When we arrived I “walked the course” then I stretched. The course was in and around a big park a few miles from the school. We start in the middle, make our way around the perimeter, through some parking lots, out to the west end of the park, back again and finish with a slight downhill around some softball fields to near where we started. It’s a pretty fast course. I did a few accelerations to get the legs ready.
The starter gave us the 10, then 5 minute warning. Finally, he called the schools to line up in their respective starting boxes. “Runners set!” then Bang! and we were off. I got a good start and I held strong. I felt fluid. During the race I saw a pack in front of me that I thought was the second tier pack but it turned out to be the leaders. At one point, I saw one of my teammate having trouble with his shoe. Then he just kicked it off! Mike and I were running together for most of the race. It was pretty intense. Bear Creek really mustered up some good support. Heck, even the principal was out there on the course, clapping and even shouting my (last) name. My mom was there too, screaming for us. As the finish line was closing in, I was running hard. I kicked it as strong as I ever had. The crowd was going NUTS. I realized later that it was because Mike was right on my tail. It was surreal as I crossed the finish line and they handed me a ticket with my place on it. I turned it over and saw as ‘6’ on it. I GOT 6TH PLACE!!! I couldn’t believe it. I was just as happy for Mike who was 7th. My time was 17:29 and Mike’s was 17:29.9! I’m all conference. I think this was my highest finish all year. I was the second runner on the team. As soon as I got out of the finish area Coach picked me up and hugged me. He was ecstatic. I was bouncing around too. After some quick math with the results, coach delivered the good news. Our team got first! County/ District Champs. I think he was really surprised (after picking Wheat Ridge to win and all). I am super happy with my places but in all honesty, I was busting my butt for a team win. It was our focus the entire year. We even overcame a few of the guys having off days; Mike, this freshman Dan and I really came through.
Well we did it. In fact, BC sweep districts; All the teams, Boy’s and Girl’s Varsity and Boy’s and Girl’s JV, got first place. But we are going to state! I got a lot of congrats and plenty of other hugs but the one that stands out is Andrea. That was nice. It was pretty awesome hearing in name called out at the awards ceremony and then hear “Bear Creek” be named as the Champs. We took some pictures and milled around for a while. When you have such a great moment in life, you want that moment to last as long as possible. But we finally headed home. When I got home I ate like everything was normal. Then we rented a movie to watch at my friend Pete's house. No school tomorrow but we do have a practice mid-morning. Pretty mellow end to an exciting day. All county means that my picture will go on the Hall of Fame, displaying my other achievements (not too many). I am just so happy to be alive. I can hardly wait to see my name in the papers. Oh well, I did great but life goes on, like Buck Wheat would have wanted. Three day weekend coming up, let’s make it a good one.
“Life is good......and Good is Life”-From a story I written by me.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)






