Today started off bad. Mike and I missed breakfast. I swear, I called for a wake-up but it never came. Worst of all, nobody even tired to wake us. You would think someone might look around and wonder where the 2nd and 3rd runners are. This kind of pissed us off. It was like the banner shit all over again. Thanks for running well but you aren’t quite part of the team. Tried to get over it, even use it for the race. Luckily I still had a banana that I bought at the store the night before. I had to eat it on the drive down to Pueblo. It was a little chilly out this morning but I am used to running in the 30s this time of year. The meet is held at Pueblo City Park and has been for the last few years. Got to the course and checked it out. It was pretty thrilling to just be there with all the schools from the different divisions. Bear Creek is in 3A (the big schools) with 25 other teams. The smaller schools are in A-2A. Mike actually came down last year as an alternate. The team finished 16th then, but he didn’t run. Now it was our turn. I was surprised at how many of my classmate drove down for the meet. So did my mom and my sister. That was nice of them. We went over the map again even though we probably all knew it by heart. I did about a 10 minute warm up with my bro and some strides. I was nervous. Considering everything, I ran pretty well. I got a personal best time of 17:00. I finished 55th overall out of around 200 guys. Our team result was a little disappointing. We got 10th out of 25 teams. All the teams we had hoped to have an off day didn’t. In fact our league rivals, Wheat Ridge got second. Their lead runner was 5th which is pretty helpful at state. The girl’s team, however, kicked butt. They got 3rd!! So they were on the podium. More amazing, they placed without a single runner in the top 10. They just stuck together. On the ride back home, the guys all talked and we started to feel better about our finish. I mean, only 4 teams out of our conference even made it. A lot people would’ve loved just to be there. We were passing around tapes and I can across this great song “Girls with Guns” by Tommy Shaw. Put me in a good mood just to hear it. We made a surprise stop at a rest area. Some parents were waiting for us with pizza. As I was eating, I felt a slight tickle in the back of my throat which means I’m getting sick. Felt worse as when I got home at about 1:30 so I just lazied around.
“Stand tall, don’t think small, don’t turn your back against the wall”- Tommy Show, Girls with Guns
No comments:
Post a Comment